update on home search

24 Chinook Cir NLR felt small
4510 N Olive St felt dark
209 N Beverley Ave was too small for our family
4601 Arlington Dr, a foreclosure, needed too much
5901 Lowrance Dr had a quirky layout
6408 Pawnee Dr wasn’t right
I don’t remember anything about 52 Flag

I despise wood paneled walls
My family needs a home with a minimum of 1600 sq ft
Pink or green tiled bathrooms are so very ugly
I want normal doors in normal frames – no wild west saloons
I hate dark woods, dark rooms, weird wallpapers, weird paint colors
I cannot abide mold or flood zones

My family would love:
Bay windows
Wrap-around porches
Built-in shelving
Nice kitchens
A single story
Arches
Vaulted ceilings
Sunrooms
White crown moulding

Zillow. When I search for homes in Little Rock I do not want to live in:
Alexander, Austin, Bauxite, Beebe, Benton, Bryant, Cabot, Conway, Jacksonville, Lonoke, Mabelvale, Maumelle, Mayflower, Redfield, Shannon Hills, Sheridan, Sherwood, Vilonia, or Ward.

Auction means cash
New Home means you have to wait for it to be built
(New homes are also smaller than old homes)
Foreclosure means it probably needs too much work
Short Sale means something like, the seller is upside-down on the pmt

Don’t get tricked into a townhouse, duplex, or apartment
If it’s priced too low, it won’t be as nice as you want it to be
Watch out for the worst of all house problems: FOUNDATION
Fishbowl shots show what’s in the room, but make it look much bigger
Some homes look great online and bad in-person
Watch out for small, ugly houses in great neighborhoods

I am a fan of
5901 La Mirado Dr but my family out-voted me
10814 Birchwood Dr and
9004 Penrose Ln weren’t the right homes for us

I looked at a million houses on 7/30 then showed my family the top three

We loved 11 Walnut Valley Dr until we saw
87 Woodlore Cir but it was outside of our price range so
17 Blackstone Cir may very well be our new home

I have memorized addresses and square feet and build dates and prices like so many stats on baseball cards.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

road trip day 4

I waited too late to write and now I’m really tired, so this will be brief. This morning we washed all the dirty laundry in the bathtub with shampoo then took it to the laundromat to dry. We drove 2hrs to the Meteor Crater. I had a... Continue →